Databases

A To Z
Information about the 50 states.

AncestryLibrary
AncestryLibrary is a version of Ancestry.com. AncestryLibrary includes billions of digitized family history records of all descriptions from 40 countries reaching back to the late 1300s. *NOTE: AncestryLibrary can only be used on-site at Ida Public Library on a library computer.*

Chilton’s
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.

Citizenship Resource Center
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. USCIS seeks to secure America’s promise as a nation of immigrants by providing accurate and useful information to our customers, granting immigration and citizenship benefits, promoting an awareness and understanding of citizenship, and ensuring the integrity of our immigration system.

ERIC
Journal reports and reports on education topics.

FirstSearch (ask at library for login information)
A wide range of information in 14 databases.

Grolier Online
A winning combination of comprehensive, age-appropriate references

HeritageQuest Online
With over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online gives any library the chance to tap in to one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country.

LegalForms
“Gale welcomes you to the most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.”

Mango Languages
Learn more than 40 languages and/or 15 ESL courses through lessons. Mango also offers a way to learn language through feature films on their site.

Medline
Abstracts of articles on all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing.

Newspapers.com
Access and search digital newspapers from around the country, including Belvidere, Illinois newspapers from 1851-1977.

PDR.net
The web version of the Physicians Desk reference, a trusted reference work about prescription medications.

PriceIT
Information about pricing and collecting antiques.

Testing and Education
Practice for standardized tests including GED, GRE, ASVAB, etc.

World Almanac
Has the Funk and Wagnall’s New Encyclopedia and four World Almanacs.

WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials available nationwide.

EBSCO PublishingSee below.

MasterFILE Elite

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,050 general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes 52 full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center™ (LRC) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.